top of page

SPWM 2019 week 1

DAY 1

GESTALTA

My mother once said she picked up a figure. Forgotten and left on an IKEA fixture.

To me, she said "O wonderful daughter, There’ll come a time to find and discover The seas of fish that glisten like silk or gems that crow for your baby’s milk. And for the one you so desire, The one carved like a dystopian lyre who sings with such fervent fire and keeps his hands above the mire-

Do not be fooled by this fair-weathered porcelain record of his. You see, his words are all but a twist; wrapped around your neck, You can no longer resist. Laced with ink from his pen and paper, you do what he says, else you walk the wire."

I looked into mama’s glassy eyes, as she put him back, leaving his splinter skin intact. We walked away and I looked back, and saw a trail of blood leaking from her back.

DAY 2

I am not He

who makes merry upon discovery of underworlds and underbellies lined with soot from when the sun died– No, I trace ash on foreheads claiming penance I’ve never received.

In the distance, the war drums rattle my mortal bones Hark, they say, hark! Look at these burning cities, the way they dance along cigarette streets spinning around each other, in each other -’s web only to become prey. The smog is thick and they’re laughing, black tears run down their cheek. They’re wearing chains around their hallow necks. Strange it seems, Entrapment is just another word for freedom.

O how mortifying it is to derive joy from the grave! They cry, staining living waters blood white. But I watched in envy, itching to melt this denigrating face. The evidence is damning, they sneer in my face as I watched my friends go up in flames. The stakes they made barred all but themselves, leaving corpses Like medals strewn over their eyes. Then, they burst into white noise singing, praising, kneeling, crying Victory! My soul squelches. As I am crushed as they are, under my bias.

I’m sorry, I say, This new sleeve is not my own. It’s been renewed by The righteous being, and I’ve left mine at home. But fear nought, I assuage with this spanking new privilege, I’ve got to hold many hearts and they’ve turned to Christ, all cold and silent.


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page